Last Song Syndrome

Music and Tales.

What song did you your worst last song syndrome?

My taste in music isn’t very diverse. I don’t listen to mainstream music either, although at home I just put the radio on speaker and listen to whatever plays in there. And that’s only to give consideration to the people I live with so I don’t bore them with my playlist.

I don’t know how I’ve come across the music of AJR, the American indie pop band, but all of a sudden their The Click album has just become my go-to pump up music. This was when I just started working and lucky me has her own small office at this first company I worked for. I can just play music there whenever without having to worry about people judging my taste in music. There are times I can’t get in the mood to work, but my deadlines don’t know that so I have to keep up. And right on cue, The Click works every time in waking up my sleeping subconscious. Yep, I just kept the whole album playing on repeat and it kept my ass working.

While I had the AJR to keep my energy alive, I also had a separate track for what helps my mental state to be at ease. I probably discovered this song while going around listening theater musicals in YouTube. It’s Dear Evan Hansen, and the whole playlist. I have not seen the show yet from where this song is actually from, in stage or even in any recorded shows, but it’s already my favorite. For me it’s the perfect example of how music can express what you can’t for yourself. It best described situations some people can’t or hate to admit.

I think this goes for a lot of people, if not all, that we listen to songs based on our mood, right? But I don’t know what mood was I in that for a time I couldn’t stop listening to the Frozen playlist. Boy was I a fanatic for playing the songs as soon as I wake up? For some reasons I just wake up and hear at the back of my head the song For the First Time in Forever and I would just itch to play it. It’s like a virus, really. Like I was really infected with Frozen Fever *pun intended*. I forgot how long that period lasted but one day I just got over it. Sigh of relief. So I guess that’s my answer, Frozen playlist was my worst LSS. Not because the songs were awful, it’s the opposite actually. They were really good, that’s why I got hooked in the first place. But what didn’t feel funny to me was when it got to a point where I hear them even when I don’t want to hear them. But now that I’m just thinking about it, it’s sort of funny to recall those waking days with Fixer Upper on the background.


Since it’s music I’m talking about, I can leave out my top artist for the past years until today.

The world is harsh
I’m stuck in the dark
I’ll make my mark
I’ve got my spark

Spark – Ed Sheeran

Ed’s music has been in my life since the beginning of college. I discovered him out of curiosity when a schoolmate gushed about the songwriter on a tweet. So I googled him, listened to the first verse of three or four songs. Yep, I didn’t finish any of the songs, after the first verse, I just hit next. Because one verse was enough length for me to recognize the beauty that it was. I was sold. I downloaded all that’s available online. Maybe not all, but if I haven’t that’s probably because I don’t know the song exists.
I know, sorry. I’m a cheap fan. But recently I’ve been relying on our friend Spotify, so at least I don’t pirate for his songs anymore.

Ben Platt in Dear Evan Hansen
AJR Talks Top 10 Hit 'Bang!,' New Album: Pop Shop Podcast | Billboard
AJR, American indie pop band
Single Review: James Bay - If You Ever Want To Be In Love | Redbrick
James Bay

Kristen Bell leaves voicemail as Anna from 'Frozen' for girl with brain  tumor - ABC7 San Francisco
Kirsten Bell

Traffic is pretty heavy here in the Philippines, and Ed’s music has always been a good companion every time. I don’t know how but his music just makes you feel things you don’t even know you could feel. Makes you feel like you’ve been broken-hearted so bad or so deep in love when you’re in fact as single as a rock. I remember when I first heard One, a song from his Multiply album, I just left it on repeat. I fell in love with the song! I once thought, if someone plays that song for me, I might fall for that person too. Because, 1) what good taste in music he has! and 2) the lyrics in that song is simply captivating, and to be told that, I don’t know *shoulder shrug*.

In his more recent songs, I think with the coming of a new love in his life, his inspiration turned to something brighter. His songs sound more vibrant and lighter. Woops, did I just rhyme? He’s currently on a break but back in September 2020, he announced the birth of his first born, Lyra Antarctica via Instagram. I’m happy for him and also highly anticipating his come back, how being a newbie father and all that sort of thing would come out in his songs.

For when my sheerio heart goes on a break, I listen to James Bay. There’s never a bad day for John Meyer, too. He’s never a bad choice when you just want chill music. Jason Mraz comes high in the choices when I want to feel good like on a Sunday morning vibe.

HQ ED SHEERAN
photo grabbed from edsheeranhq.tumblr.com

*Credits to the original owners of all the photos I used. As they were grabbed from different sources, you can click through the image to see where they’re posted/where I grabbed them from. Thank you!

Leave a comment